Realz

French Open 2013: Jour 5

In Uncategorized on May 31, 2013 at 8:13 am
Rain has been a constant feature at this major as of late

Rain has been a constant feature at this major as of late

Well on Day 5 of the French Open, the rains were back wreaking havoc once again on the schedule once. Since I have re-started this blog this year, I feel like I have ranted and raved about anything in particular as is my usual style. I do have some juicy tidbits to share and also comment on some recent events including Sloane Stephens’s big ole haterification of the Serenanator. However, I feel like I do not have the time to really do justice to these news Realz style. I will make a concerted effort to do so soon enough.

Certainly earning their wages this major

Certainly earning their wages this major

Anyway to the results:

Don't get it twisted folks, I am here to win this title!

Don’t get it twisted folks, I am here to win this title!

There is not much men’s action to report for rain held up most of the matches to the point where Divadal did not get to start his match. Anyway, Djoker came out on fire against his Argentine opponent beating him 6-2 6-0 6-2. He was sending a message just in case people thought he was a bit rusty coming into this tournament or nagged with injuries or simply cannot blitz players well beneath his ranking. He moves on to the 3rd round where he will face Mr. Shriekapova himself Grigor Dimitrov (26) who knocked out a French wildcard also in straight sets 6-1 7-6 6-1. Interestingly enough, the last time Djoker and Delicious Dimitrov met in Madrid, Dimitrov won the match. I am sure it was in Madrid they met last.

Definitely where I am washing my clothes next time around!!!

Definitely where I am washing my clothes next time around!!!

Yeah you can definitely come and laundered me anytime you like

Yeah you can definitely come and laundered me anytime you like

Anyway speaking of French, hotness Benoit Paire (24) won his match in straight sets, giving the home town crowd loads to cheer about. 13th seed Kei Nishikori won his match in 4 sets as did Fabio Fognini, 27th seed. Now Fognini’s win over Lukas Rosol put an end to a possible matchup between Rosol and Divadal again. That is kinda disappointed because you know haters like me would have loved to see Divadal being all flustered on court.

Hotness!!

Hotness!!

Philip Kohlschreiber (16) is into the 3rd round without swinging his racquet as his opponent pulled out. Victor Hanescu of Romania also moved on due to retirement. However, his was a rather strange affair. Playing Dmitry Tursunov, Hanescu was also a set up and now in the 2nd set tiebreaker when the rains came but when play was about to resume, Tursunov pulled out. I do not know why and quite frankly I am not really checking for one. It is not like the going-ons of the likes of Hanescu or Tursunov matter to the overall scheme of things. I am not being rude here but just keeping it realz.

Gurl you know you're in a bad place when I am beating you solidly on court. Get it together

Gurl you know you’re in a bad place when I am beating you solidly on court. Get it together

On the ladies’ side, a lot more matches took place and there some upsets. 6th seed LiNaLi lost in 3 sets to American Bethanie Mattek-Sands. In realz term, this is not even an upset but more of an ulcer. I think Li is losing her mind because she was all over the place in this match. She started off strong in the 1st set and then quickly evaporated. I mean it was all she could do to win that set. The rains came but did that not help her to get back to her previous form. She went out in 3 sets rather meekly 7-5 3-6 2-6. To be honest, I did not think that Mattek-Sands would get this done but low and behold, she kept it together and knocked out the 2011 French Open champ.

Cibulkova went bye bye

Cibulkova went bye bye

She was not the only seeded player to be bounced. Dominika Cibulkova who I am certain got really far in the draw last year, lost to Marina Erakovic of New Zealand 2-6 6-2 4-6. Another upset was Paula Ormaechea of Columbia I think, taking out Shvedova, the 27th seed 6-4 7-6. Ormaechea is a qualifier so you know she has already played like 5 matches in a row just to get to the 3rd round.
Vickie, the 3rd seed, almost lost her mind on court being up 5-0 and almost losing 5 straight games but then righted her ship to take the match 6-4 6-3. Kvitova got herself together to knock out her opponent in straight sets as did Fivehead Jankovic who seems to be finding her grove again. France’s Alize Cornet has won two matches in a row at a major and I cannot be more surprised than this. I did not even think she would get out of the 1st round despite being the 31st seed. You do not know how much of a basket case the French ladies are but I am really glad to see that she is kinda living up to her potential.

Cornet winning matches and being positive on court are rare sights indeed

And people say Frenchwomen don’t shave!!! #dontbuyintothestereotype

Bethanie Mattek-Sands will have some American company in the 3rd round as Jaime Hampton and Sloane Stephens won their matches in straight sets. Stephens beat fellow American Vania King. Other winners include dangerous floater Jie Zheng and Sam Stosur. The Aussie is looking very nice and clean on clay. She got to the semis last year before inexplicably going down to Errani if I am not mistaken. So it would be interesting to see how far she gets this year. It seems like she plays very well on the clay courts of Roland Garros.

Shriekapova has to continues her match tomorrow and hopefully she discontinues this outfit. It's disgusting!!

Shriekapova has to continues her match tomorrow and hopefully she discontinues this outfit. It’s disgusting!!

Well Day 6 should be action packed as so many matches to be completed and much of the 3rd round action scheduled to begin including Mr. Federer vs Benneteau. There is no rain scheduled to appear so it should be a nice day of tennis.

Amelie is in the HOUSE!!!

Amelie is in the HOUSE!!!

Mrs. Djokovic aren't you suppose to be married to the Serbian by now? Why the very long engagement

Mrs. Djokovic aren’t you suppose to be married to the Serbian by now? Why the very long engagement

Ormaechea...oh my your eyebrows. Gurl you need to trim those caterpillars

Ormaechea…oh my your eyebrows. Gurl you need to trim those caterpillars

2013+French+Open+Day+Five+GUChYzVZb45l

You’ve never touched a coloured person before right?? Don’t worry, you won’t caught it

Sam isn't being insensitive, she is simply dreaming about more than kissing with this blond

Sam isn’t being insensitive, she is simply fantasizing about more than kissing with this blond

She's a big big gurl!!

She’s a big big gurl!!

Like you, I am not sure

Like you, I am not sure

f_30-05-Sharapova-Maria-05

Realz is talking shit about me again right??

  1. OMG I died at the last picture / caption! LOL

    oh dear that action shot of Shevdova scared the hell outta me!!! and the Cornet one ! LOL

    D’Stove looks pretty with the braid! she should keep it.

    you know Djokovic is gonna propose to Jelena on court when he wins his Career GS here LOL

    • HUH?? He’s going to propose to her on court?? What sorta mess is this? Why do people invite so much attention and affair into their private life. His love and devotion to Jelena has nothing to do with tennis and shouldn’t be mucking up the awards ceremony. However, I suspect that he is playing a PR game. He is seriously lagging behind the PR machines of Divadal and Mr. Federer. They make a lot more money than he does and they are not even number 2 in the world. I think he is struggling with that issue plus he is trying to bring new light and likeability to Serbia. I admire him for the latter part. He has really taken up this responsibility squarely on his shoulders.

  2. J’adore tennis

Leave a Reply

