Realz

French Open 2013: The Quarterfinals

In David Ferrer, French Open, Jelena Jankovic, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Maria Kirilenko, Maria Sharapova, Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Sara Errani, Serena Williams, Sports Blog, Tommy Haas, Tommy Robredo, Victoria Azarenka on June 6, 2013 at 8:33 am

I believe that I am now in a better place to talk about the quarterfinals match-up today.

He got punched in the face! It was a tough day for everyone

He got punched in the face! It was a tough day for everyone

By way of the ladies, it was a combination of 2 dog fights; Serenanator v Kuzi-Rex and Shriekapova v Fivehead JungleWitch and 2 tough 2 setters; Errani v Bratzwanska and Vickie v Krazilenko. I think all around, the women’s quarterfinals saw better tennis than the men’s. Just my opinion. Nonetheless, the ladies’ matches would not get the praise it deserves.

Kuzi-Rex is really trying to come for me

Kuzi-Rex is really trying to come for me

I did not get to see much of the Errani v Bratzwanska match but I am really proud of Errani because this is about the 1st time she has been a top 4/5 player I think and she did so in straight sets. She held her nerves. I think she is becoming a player who is reliable and not about to be beaten by a player unless you have uncommon skills. She is not a power player and not necessarily the most crafty but she has a really nice combination and always willing to be “Ms. 1st Runner-Up” That is, if any of the other ladies get knocks out/injured/disappears/self destructs etc, she is ready and able to snag a major or two. She is out here to defend her points from last year and Aga was not going to stop that from happening 6-4 7-6.

It will be a repeat of the US Open semis 2012

It will be a repeat of the US Open semis 2012

Serena v Sveta was interesting in that in the 1st set, it was all Serenanator 6-1. Kuzi took a break before the 2nd set and then she came out firing. She directed everything to the Serenanator’s forehand and the Russian’s forehand was beating it like a horse. Kuzi is an athlete and she was just all over the place getting in the Serenanator’s face. It was all the American could do to have won 3 games in that 2nd set 6-3 Kuzi. In the 3rd set, the demons the Serenanator was fighting were finally vanquished and she got her life together. After being down 0-2 at the start of the 3rd set, she just snatched the next 5 games. Kuzi served to stay in the match but could not break ReRe to delay her defeat. Serenanator 6-1 3-6 6-3

Who does this itch think she is bageling me? WTF? WTMFF?

Who does this itch think she is bageling me? WTF? WTMFF?

Anyway, the semifinal match up with see Shriekapova v Vickie. Shriekapova lost the 1st set to Fivehead 0-6. It was incredible because Shriekapova does not eat bagel from just about anyone. Anyway, she fought her way back into the match to take the next 2 sets 6-4 6-3. Shriekapova 0-6 6-4 6-3. I have to say that Maria is a very very tough customer. I really do admire her fight more than her tennis ability. She works extremely hard out there and no one is going to beat her unless you come up with your absolute best. So she is in the semis for a 3rd time. This is perhaps her best major yet LOL. Vickie also had a tough time against Krazilenko but was able to close it out 7-5 6-2. In the end, Krazilenko proved to be too inconsistent/unsteady of the two.

Impressive but this isn't gymnastics; this is tennis

Impressive but this isn’t gymnastics; this is tennis

And down she goes

And down she goes

That scream is giving me a monster headache

That scream is giving me a monster headache

Au revoir gurl!! I have a date with another Maria

Au revoir gurl!! I have a date with another Maria

Who will win the semis for the ladies… Hmmm the Serenanator is strongly favoured over Errani but it is definitely a toss up between Shriekapova v Vickie. It is hard to say who has the edge. Although it would be a far more competitive final if it is the Serenanator v Vickie. Any other combination would be a romping shack!.

It was all about Tsonga on that day

It was all about Tsonga on that day

Not even... perhaps you need to pull down the shorts as well to see if anything changes

Not even… perhaps you need to pull down the shorts as well to see if anything changes

This doesn't impress me much as it use to

This doesn’t impress me much as it use to

Not impressed at all

Not impressed at all

As for the men’s quarterfinals, what can I really say. Mr. Federer lost to Tsonga again. I could not believe in and in straight sets at that. As a matter of fact, all of the men’s quarterfinals matches were decided in straight sets and of the 12 sets played, only 1 was a tirebreaker. Very interesting. Anyway, I left Mr. Federer up 4-2 before I was called away at work to talk about a stapler. I kid you not, a bloody stapler. I sat in a meeting with two managers for over an hour for a frigging stapler. No I did not steal one, or throw one or destroy one or even lose one. I simply told someone, they could not have one. Apparently that was not being “supportive” My work place is worthy of a Realz blog. However, I digress. What really got to me was as they were going on about this freaking stapler, my main man, Mr. Federer was being pummeled by Baby Ali. When I came out of this ridiculous meeting, I checked the score to find out that Mr. Federer was already sent home packing. You know I wanted to do something crazy with a stapler right then and there. I could not deal! Anyway, I have to take this lost like every other lost of Mr. Federer. I have to take it in stride and look at the big picture. I am happy for Tsonga; as happy as I could be when his victory means my defeat. He is a hard worker and he deserves to win some big matches. However, it should not always be at my Mr. Federer’s expense. Therefore, they have to put this frigger in another part of the draw. He is really mucking up plans for Mr. Federer. Tsonga 7-5 6-3 6-3

Thanks for coming to my early morning practice Tommy. I really appreciate it

Thanks for coming to my early morning practice Tommy. I really appreciate it

In the other quarters on that day, Fiery Ferrer v Robredo and no surprise there that Robredo did not have a leg to stand on.  Ferrer just dismantled him 6-2 6-1 6-1; a two piece with 2 breadsticks. So it will be Tsonga v Ferrer and the interesting thing is that neither of them really stand a chance of winning the title. It is crazy to think that but it is the near truth of the matter because looming in the final would either be Divadal or Djoker. Divadal just crushed Stan in his quarterfinals match up 6-2 6-3 6-1. I mean what I found ridiculous was that Wawrinka had the audacity to be upset at his struggles in the match. Really Stan the man? I mean you are planning freaking Rafael Nadal who eats Roger Federer for breakfast on clay and toys with the one-handed back hand like it is playdoh and you expected to get a leg up in this match? You should have had smaller goals and maybe, just maybe luck would have gone your way. I had some advice for Mr. Federer couple of weeks ago when he played Divadal in Rome. Mr. Federer did not heed my warnings/suggestions and he paid for it miserably. You would have done well to take my stance. Anyway, I really did not want you upsetting the match up I took off work for. Stan v Djoker is not worth dealing with the devil to get Friday off. However, Divadal v Djoker….now that is something working calling out of work for etc.

I am dejected

I am dejected

You did not have to treat me this badly. I am not Mr. Federer. I could have at least won a set!

You did not have to treat me this badly. I am not Mr. Federer. I could have at least won a set!

Djoker v Haas was not particularly remarkable but it was the most competitive of all the men’s quarterfinals. Haas won more games than the other losers but in the end Haas still lost the match. Djoker 6-3 7-6 7-5.

Diva on the floor! Diva on the floor! Diva on the floor! Now werq! WERQ!!

Diva on the floor! Diva on the floor! Diva on the floor! Now werq! WERQ!!

WOW, I won the most games for losers in the quarters?? Really?? Moi, the oldest man!

WOW, I won the most games for losers in the quarters?? Really?? Moi, the oldest man!

I got a date with destiny and his name is Divadal

I got a date with destiny and his name is Divadal

Thanks for coming.

Thanks for coming.

 

Leave a Reply

