Realz

US Open 2013: Day 10

In Daniela Hantuchova, David Ferrer, Flavia Pennetta, Rafael Nadal, Richard Gasquet, Roberta Vinci, Tennis, Tommy Robredo, US Open, Victoria Azarenka on September 6, 2013 at 7:36 am
Flavia Pennetta is having a most wonderful US Open

Flavia Pennetta is having a most wonderful US Open

So I am finally at Day 10 which only had 4 singles matches. Much of it were easy contests as Flavia Pennetta took out her countrywoman Roberta Vinci in straight sets 6-4 6-1. This was a rather surprising result as I really expected more from Vinci. She tried out there to be fair but everything she tried just was not working and was unable to come up with something more tactical to deal with the game of Pennetta. Pennetta is currently ranked 83rd in the world but is definitely a seasoned player. She was not about to let an opportunity like this go to waste. This is her 1st major semis but has had good results here. She will face Vickie, which is HUGE obstacle to get by.

I am getting frostbite from this hug

I am getting frostbite from this hug

Yes I didn't get bagelled out here

Yes I didn’t get bagelled out here

The Belarusian had a light workout against Daniela Hantuchova who was as always missing in action. The Slovak was able to break Vickie a couple of times but the problem was that she was having great difficulty holding her own serve. She was dismissed in straight sets 2-6 2-6. Vickie is not looking at her best but she is getting the job done. On the other side of the draw is either the Serenanator or LiNaLi. Both those players I am sure will be able to take out Vickie plus they both have that revenge factor going for them. They both lost to Vickie this year on hardcourt. They most certainly will not be entertaining any notion of Vickie leaving NYC with pep in her step. They want to maim her and have her limp off the court.

I am ready for a fight itches! BRING IT ON!

I am ready for a fight itches! BRING IT ON!

On the men’s side, Divadal was expected just ripped apart Tommy Robredo and his game 6-0 6-2 6-2. I suspect the scoreline could have easily been triple bagel but Divadal thought about how it would look bad in the press and gifted his countryman 4 games. Needless to say, we all knew this would be the result.

Thanks for rolling over and dying

Thanks for rolling over and dying

However, I am happy to say that we are spared a 2nd helping of this fools’ meal when Richard Gasquet took out David Ferrer in 5 sets. I am most happy about this result. Not only because we avoid the whole Divadal/Ferrer mess match but because I actually do like Gasquet. Unfortunately, he has no real shot of beating Divadal but one can always hope and you never know. Anyway, Gasquet played an exceptional match in sets 1, 2 and 5. Where the hell he went to in sets 3 and 4 is still a mystery. That beautiful backhand of his was on pointe like a ballerina. It was hitting all corners of the court and the timing of it was magnificent to behold. It is an impressive stroke. It can do no wrong with it is working for the Frenchman. Thus, he found himself up 6-3 6-1.

Yeah I am about to blow a gasquet out here

Yeah I am about to blow a gasquet out here

However, in the 3rd and 4th sets, he became that unstable Frenchman we have known over the years. This was the same Frenchman who blew several 2 sets to love leads in his career. So many of us were already anticipating the beginning of the end for him. Fiery Ferrer is a fighter against everyone save Divadal. He will not give up until the umpire calls Game, Set and Match. He is on it and boy did he come back roaring. He just gave the Frenchman everything he had to take the 3rd and 4th sets 6-4 6-2.

Fiery Ferrer was unstoppable out there in the 3rd and 4th sets

Fiery Ferrer was unstoppable out there in the 3rd and 4th sets

We all expected him to snatch the 5th set and the match. However, Gasquet proved me wrong and I am most happy for this. He seized his 1st break chance opportunities at 3-2 to go up 4-2. He then held his serve to be ahead comfortably 5-2. Ferrer held his serve at 3-5 and forced the Frenchman to serve for the match and his 1st US Open semis. The pressure was squarely on Gasquet’s shoulder but he did not succumb to the pressure. He served it out to take the set 6-3 and thus the match 6-3 6-1 4-6 2-6 6-3. This should be a wonderful confidence booster for him. Hopefully, he can keep the upset streak going and take out Divadal. But alas, I might be asking for too much here. Last time he beat the Spaniard, Gasquet noted was back when they were teenagers in Under 14 tournament. Here’s is to a Gasquet victory!

I am losing to Gasquet. Why won't he choke? Incroyable!

I am losing to Gasquet. Why won’t he choke? Incroyable!

I just had to beat you! I had to save the world from another Spanish match up with Divadal in the mix... NO BUENO

I just had to beat you! I had to save the world from another Spanish match up with Divadal in the mix… NO BUENO

2
R. Nadal
6
6 6
19
T. Robredo
0 2 2
4
D. Ferrer
3
1 6 6 3
8
R. Gasquet
6 6 4 2 6
And in other news, the Williams Sisters are in still in the Doubles draw

And in other news, the Williams Sisters are in still in the Doubles draw

I bet you Realz gonna say shite about my handbag... He's such a hater

I bet you Realz gonna say shite about my handbag… He’s such a hater

I am not gonna lie.. Divadal got some nice legs

I am not gonna lie.. Divadal got some nice legs

This is what happens when the ATP knows that you are never going to win a major. They give you consolation prizes (aka Sportsmanship Award) presented by another non-major winner.

This is what happens when the ATP knows that you are never going to win a major. They give you consolation prizes (aka Sportsmanship Award) presented by another non-major winner.

The best I have ever seen Murray look

The best I have ever seen Murray look

There is a cold front coming from Anna Wintour as always (Gurl time to change up that look...)

There is a cold front coming from Anna Wintour as always (Gurl time to change up that look…)

The was suppose to be all about Dakota Fanning and her man...but I can't help but look at the woman behind who looks like she just jumped out of a Hitchcock film

The was suppose to be all about Dakota Fanning and her man…but I can’t help but look at the woman behind who looks like she just jumped out of a Hitchcock film

Michael Strahan and his.... friend....hmmmm

Michael Strahan and his…. friend….hmmmm

Ain't that his boyf..... Shut your mouth. I told you that in confidence

Ain’t that his boyf….. Shut your mouth. I told you that in confidence

asdsdsadas

Leave a Reply

