Realz

2015 Australian Open: Day 2 Back to Normalcy

In Uncategorized on January 20, 2015 at 1:32 pm

So Day 2 of the 2015 Australian Open was nowhere near as dramatic as yesterday though we did have several upsets and a few surprises.

Things were far more relaxed than they were on Day 1 even Milos was chillaxing

Things were far more relaxed than they were on Day 1 even Milos was chillaxing

On the women’s side, biggest surprise of the day for me was the relative ease by which Sam Stosur (20) got past Monica Niculescu. The Australian did not disappoint her home crowd as she took the match in straight sets 6-4 6-1. I half expected Niculescu to make a comeback at any point but fortunately for Sam, Monica was basically done after the 1st set.

YES I WON!!

YES I WON!!

Day 2 also featured what was supposed to be a headliner women’s match, Vickie Azarenka v Slowe Stephens. Unfortunately, this was a lot more hype than substance. Stephens has lost 2 years in a row v Azarenka and this year was no different really. They both came into the Aussie Open this year struggling with confidence, lurking low in the rankings and dealing with nagging injuries. However, it was hard to tell that with Azarenka as she was really moving well. Slowe was basically slow. She was not getting to the ball quickly enough and when she did get there, she did nothing with the ball. Vickie seized all the momentum and took the match 6-3 6-2. Stephens is just not there yet to be against the top level. Hopefully with her new coach she can get her life together and produce better tennis this year. 

This turned out to be a no contest for the most part

This turned out to be a no contest for the most part

Wozniacki (8) played a tricky opponent in the form of Taylor Townsend. There was the potential for this match to get interesting but Townsend could not hold up her end of the bargain. She was able to get the 1st set going and pushed it to a tiebreaker. However, the American only won a single point there. In the 2nd set, she had many opportunities, 8 break points for the entire match in fact but only able to convert once. Wozniacki therefore escaped unscathed 7-6(1) 6-2. I am again left disappointed with several of these young players; Townsend and Borna Coric to name a few, who are showing themselves capable of hanging with the top players BUT yet failing to take the great chances laid out in front of them to capitalize and push forward their careers.

This could have been complicated for Wozniacki but she pulled it together and made it through without much bother

This could have been complicated for Wozniacki but she pulled it together and made it through without much bother

Townsend had 34 unforced errors alone compared to 10 from Wozniacki; granted the American had 30 winners. However, many of those errors came at the most opportune times and also when she clearly had the momentum in her hand. To be quite frank, I am not sure if Townsend is getting the right stuff to help her develop. I have been watching her for quite some time and I have seen nothing different from when she was a junior. Her fitness has definitely improved and there is still ways to go but really her style of play and strategic operation all remain that of the Townsend that was dominating the junior rankings. Perhaps she might like to go spend some time with Divadal camp. In all seriousness, I think she is really attempting to play a style that is Divadalesque and also reminiscent of Martina Navratilova. Now there is a partnership I would love to see, Martina and Taylor. No shade to Zina Garrison for she has definitely helped Taylor and should continue to present in her tennis life.

ARGHHHHHH I can't believe I just play that shot. I could kill myself

ARGHHHHHH I can’t believe I just play that shot. I could kill myself

That face you make when you were so close yet so far away

That face you make when you were so close yet so far away and it was all your fault

Anyway let’s get to other news. The Williams Sisters, Serenanator (1) and Granny Vee (18) were both in action on some other court. Combined these two have 25 major singles titles yet the Aussie Open organizers see fit that be placed on some second to third tier court. Anywho we are not here for that right now. So Serenanator came through in semi-dominating fashion. She got rid of Alison VanUytvanck 6-0 6-4. This Belgian gurl had a fairly decent serve and was giving Serena fever in the 2nd set but ReRe got her life together in the last game of the set to eke out the break and take it in an hour.

Getting all pumped up to take her 6th Aussie Open crown

Getting all pumped up to take her 6th Aussie Open crown

Granny Vee was looking nice and fresh v Marie-Teresa Torro-Flor (I mean seriously, how can you have two hyphenated names?). I can’t even with this many names. I am so tempted to call her Total Floor and be done with it. Anyway, Venus came through 6-2 6-2 in 63 minutes if I am not mistaken. Again, Venus is getting away with playing too much behind the baseline and keep on finding herself in trouble there. She is only moving forward as a last resort when that should be her primary instinct. Nonetheless she is through to the 2nd round, something she did not do last year and I cannot be mad at that.

Granny Vee is all smiles with a comfortable win under her belt.

Granny Vee is all smiles with a comfortable win under her belt.

Petra is flowing this year

Petra is flowing this year

While we are on the subject of persons who lost last year in the 1st round, Petra Kvitova (4) is also looking to be in great form. She dismissed her opponent in thorough fashion 6-1 6-4. Last year’s finalist, Cibuttkova (11) overcame a poor showing in the 1st set to take out Kristen Flipkens 3-6 6-3 6-1 and get closer to defend her finalist points. Other seeded players who moved through the draw include Aga Bratzwanska (6), Lordlize Cornemort (19), Garbine Muguruza (24), Barbora Zahlavova-Strycova (25), Elena Svitolina (26) Casey Dellacqua (29) and Varvara Lepchenko (30). They all moved through to the 2nd round in straight sets. In fact while yesterday saw many of the seeded players in the bottom half struggling to stick around, all of the top seeds in the top half who won today all did so without dropping a set. Actually that is not true, Cibuttkova dropped a set. My bad!

Aga Bratzwanska is through to the 2nd round

Aga Bratzwanska is through to the 2nd round

However, you know there always have to be some people who must be “different” and mess things up. Sure enough we had those today. There were three “upsets” so to speak of and they all came from the same area. The Nos. 12, 13 and 15 seeds got sent packing. Penne Pasta Pennetta (12) was bid arrivederci by fellow Italian Camila Giorgi. Giorgi was aggressive from the start but Pennetta was able to take the 1st set 6-4. Giorgi would not be denied and she came roaring back to take it 4-6 6-2 6-3. Giorgi almost lost the plot in the 3rd set as she struggled to close out the match. Nonetheless, she was able to get the win.

Giorgi. Unfortunately you cannot see the whole outfit and I think that might have to do with the fact that those shorts are so short and tight, one can see lips. Camila, that's way too much

Giorgi. Unfortunately you cannot see the whole outfit and I think that might have to do with the fact that those shorts are so short and tight, one can see lips. Camila, that’s way too much

Andrea Petkovic (13) had a similar problem where she won the 1st set and then found herself in a fight for her life thereafter. Actually Petkovic had the upperhand in the 2nd set but then things got complicated and then her life got ended. American Madison Brengle took the match 5-7 7-6(4) 6-3. And while we are on the subject of Brengle, she revealed in the presser that she will be having facial reconstruction surgery to remove a malignant mass in her jaw. I really wish her well. This type of situation is never pleasant in the least. I would like to take this opportunity to make a book suggestion, Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy. It is an amazing read. It deals with a similar situation of facial surgery. Madison Brengle gurl, we don’t really know you in these parts but we wish you well.

Madison Brengle

Madison Brengle

Anyway, back to the tennis. So I really do not have anything against Pennetta nor Petkovic. However, I am glad they are gone because they were wearing the most ATROCIOUS tennis outfits this year around. They were GHASTLY. I just could not with them at all.

Absolutely foul fashion

Absolutely foul fashion

Look at this hot mess

Look at this hot mess

They even had Granny Goodness Date-Krumm in this mess

They even had Granny Goodness Date-Krumm in this mess! This is elderly abuse

Anyway, speaking of fashion faux pas, the other “upset” was Fivehead Jankovic (15) who is again on the path of struggle more. Jankovic was in 2013 very prominent in the top 10, now she is sinking in the rankings. She was up against Timea Bacsinszky who got to the finals of Shenzhen couple of weeks ago after beating Kvitova in the semifinals, so you know this gurl can hit a big ball. Anyway, Fivehead Jungle Witch did not put up much of a fight against the Swiss as she got dismissed 1-6 4-6. Heather Watson who recently won Hobart got sent back home by Tsvetana Pironkova also in straight sets. This is “kinda an upset” no?

I shouldn't have gone to that party last night .. arghhhh

I shouldn’t have gone to that party last night .. arghhhh

Let’s us deal with some more winners which included Vera Zvonareva who is now face Serena in the 2nd round, Daniela Hantuchova, American wild card Irina Falconi who beat dangerous floater Kaia Kanepi in 3 sets and also another American Coco Vandeweghe who sent Francesca Schiavone packing in straight sets. This is the 6 consecutive major that the 35-year-old 2010 French Open champ has lost in the 1st round. Granny Franny might be retiring soon.

So let us get to the menz:

Thanks for showing up at the Djoker Party now it's time for you to go! #bye

Thanks for showing up at the Djoker Party now it’s time for you to go! #bye

Again for the 2nd day, the top men produced a somewhat solid overall performance. Djoker Harlequeen (1) won in straight sets 6-3 6-2 6-4 over Aljaz Bedene. Defending champion Stanley Wawrinka (4) was also in stellar form with a quick 6-1 6-4 6-2 win over Marsel Ilhan. Kei Horsikori (5) had his hands full for a bit against Nicolas Almagro who is making his comeback after long term injury. Horsikori won 6-4 7-6(1) 6-2. Almagro played a great match and hopefully he gets his life together for the rest of the season. I would so hate to see him get triple bagelled by Divadal at the French Open. He needs to be ready to win at least 5 games in Paris v Lord Clay Divadal.

I am here to defend my title

I am here to defend my title

Speaking of Spaniards and Divadal’s pigeons, they were all for the most part making quite a meal of their matches. Fake Fire Ferrer (9) dropped the 1st set to Thomaz Bellucci but he charged right back and took it in 4, 6-7 6-2 6-0 6-3. FeFe Lopez (12) near had his life ended as he saved 3 match points against wild card entrant Denis Kudla of the US. However, Lopez relied upon experience and some gutsy play to take it 3-6 6-2 4-6 6-2 10-8. Roberto Bautista-Agut (13) was near a 5th set against Dominic Thiem but again inexperience from a youngster led to their downfall. Bautista-Agut took it 4-6 6-2 6-3 7-6. Tabasco Verdasco (31) bad a bit of trouble getting passed James Ward but again his veteran status saw him through to the end and the 2nd round 2-6 6-0 7-6 6-3.

FeFe Lopez just in case you like them a lil rough and rugged

FeFe Lopez just in case you like them a lil rough and rugged

I want to take this moment to talk about two of the ATP more “interesting” players; Milos Raonic (8) and Beetlejuice Monfils (17). I say interesting based on the fact that they are both immensely talented players but they get into the habit of wasting time on court and then when they get to the big matches, they struggle and fail terribly. Now I do not know about you but there is no reason for Raonic to be finding it difficult to break the serve of Illya Marchenko, some qualifier scrub. Seriously, Raonic only broke this guy ONCE in the entire match to take it 7-6 7-6 6-3. This is foolishness. Raonic needs to get a return game in his life or he is going to take the path of the Mark Philippoussis, the Ivo Karlovic and the Andy Roddick without a major win. Not being able to break serve at the top level is a problem buddy and you need to get that straighten out right away.

Beetlejuice is back to struggling in the early stages of a major

Beetlejuice is back to struggling in the early stages of a major

As for Monfils what more can one say. At the US Open, he played some of his most inspired tennis. Now here in Melbourne, he is back to playing 5 set matches in the 1st round. Why? I have no idea. Monfils had to come back from 0-2 against his compatriot Lucas Pouille 6-7 3-6 6-4 6-1 6-4. This is ridiculous. Monfils needs to go back to tennis school or something and be thought the basics of what it takes to be a major champion because I am getting the impression that he is content to play supporting cast for his entire career. I mean this might be cute for now but tennis history is littered with many extras and wingmans. Monfils is capable of winning a major especially if Wawrinka and Cilic are in possession of one; that’s all I am say. No shade, No T!

That was cute Realz ... trying to be all shady and what not

That was cute Realz … trying to be all shady and what not

In regards to other winners, we have BFG Mountain Troll Isner (19) winning in straight sets and will join fellow Americans Donald Young and Steven Johnson in the 2nd round. Yeah I know, Donald Young actually won a match on tour. Not so lucky for the American was Sam Querrey who got ousted by Canadian Vasek Pospisil or as I like to call him Popsicle. Jerzy Janowicz benefitted greatly from the fact that Del Potro pulled out just before the start of the tournament handing him a near dwarf (in terms of tennis) as his opponent. However, Janowicz still struggled but got through in 4 sets.

Perhaps I should have gone with basketball because that's the only way I am ever going to slamdunk a match

Perhaps I should have gone with basketball because that’s the only way I am ever going to slamdunk a match

Four top seeded players lost their bids to get out of the 1st round: Fabio Pignini (16) will join his girlfriend Penne Pasta Pennetta on the sidelines as he was also dismissed. He lost to Colombian Alejandro Gonzalez in 4 sets. Alexandra Dolgopolov (21) aka BWLLAGWLLAB (Boy Who Looks Like a Girl Who Looks Like a Boy) lost to Italian Paolo Lorenzi in straight sets. I mean seriously, BWLLAGWLLAB does not want to be a tennis player. Julie Benneteau (25) lost in 4 sets to German Benjamin Becker and Pablo Cuevas (27) lost to Matthias Bachinger, a qualifier. However, I am not sure how to feel about Cuevas loss because I really do not know who he is to feel anyway about it.

I almost forgot to mention that Giles Simon (18) won his match as did Lleyton Hewitt. However, it seems like Australia is getting excited for the man as he struggled through his 1st round match in 4 sets against Ze Zhang (I have no idea who he is). Is that even news? 

Tomorrow or today depending on how you look at it and where you are, will see 2nd round action with both the bottom halves of the draws. So we will see Divadal, Mr. Federer, Martha Shriekapova, Simona Halep, Lochness Murray and Dimitrov in action to name a few. 

#TeamHotties

Both better to start off today's hotties list with a double scooping of goodness right here!

Both better to start off today’s hotties list with a double scooping of goodness right here!

I don't even know his name but he can get it ... actually I think he's Lucas Pouille of France OUI OUI OUI

I don’t even know his name but he can get it … actually I think he’s Lucas Pouille of France OUI OUI OUI

Popsicle ... all creamy and sweaty :-)

Popsicle … all creamy and sweaty 🙂

Bedene

Bedene

Another Frenchie Simon ... he can work if one in a pinch

Another Frenchie Simon … he can work if one in a pinch

Nicky Almagro ... what can you say but MUY CALIENTE

Nicky Almagro … what can you say but MUY CALIENTE

Another Spaniard, Pablo Carreno-Busta SI SI SI SI SI

Another Spaniard, Pablo Carreno-Busta SI SI SI SI SI

Illya Marchenko can march straight to any boudoir he wants

Illya Marchenko can march straight to any boudoir he wants

Slowe is giving you fever right here! Sheer beauty

Slowe is giving you fever right here! Sheer beauty

I mean her name is Cibuttkova for a reason but that face is everything also

I mean her name is Cibuttkova for a reason but that face is everything also

You cannot beat Vickie in the looks department at all

You cannot beat Vickie in the looks department at all

#TeamNotties

You know Beetlejuice is a resident of #teamnottie all day long

You know Beetlejuice is a resident of #teamnottie all day long

I am sorry, she might be a nice girl and all but that face be a lil horsey for my liking

I am sorry, she might be a nice girl and all but that face be a lil horsey for my liking

The UnbeWeaveable Saga of Serena Williams She gotta be traveling with as much weaves as racquets

This was Serena in Perth

This was Serena in Perth

This was Serena on the practice courts of Melbourne

This was Serena on the practice courts of Melbourne

This was Serena at the press conference in Melbourne

This was Serena at the press conference in Melbourne

Now this is Serena on court

Now this is Serena on court

#TreasureChests

Giving you sexy pose is Kei

Giving you sexy pose is Kei

Huh? Are you checking me out?

Huh? Are you checking me out?

Wait my back ... hahaha I am not Divadal

Wait my back … hahaha I am not Divadal

I am just gonna slowly put on my shirt

I am just gonna slowly put on my shirt

Mixed Bag Photos

I wonder if he's not afraid he's gonna bite off his tongue one of these days

I wonder if he’s not afraid he’s gonna bite off his tongue one of these days

So wait, even scrubs be bringing purses to court these day?

So wait, even scrubs be bringing purses to court these day?

Wait, is Divadal here? I thought someone said he was here. He not here no more. Well I am here

Wait, is Divadal here? I thought someone said he was here. He not here no more. Well I am here

I have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHAT IS GOING ON RIGHT HERE and something tells me that I do not want to know

I have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHAT IS GOING ON RIGHT HERE and something tells me that I do not want to know

Where do we begin with these pants?

Where do we begin with these pants?

Why is Fabio wearing a screensaver?

Why is Fabio wearing a screensaver?

Verdasco you know better than to wear this?

Verdasco you know better than to wear this?

Sweetie you might not be aware of this but right now, your man is thinking, "My makeup is better than yours" and gurl that's a problem

Sweetie you might not be aware of this but right now, your man is thinking, “My makeup is better than yours” and gurl that’s a problem

What do you mean you don't know who I am? I am Martin Klizan No. 32 seed here. No I don't hang out with Djokovic and I cannot get you his autograph. Where's your parent? You're bugging me right now.

What do you mean you don’t know who I am? I am Martin Klizan No. 32 seed here. No I don’t hang out with Djokovic and I cannot get you his autograph. Where’s your parent? You’re bugging me right now.

Is he wearing an asshat? Hmmm

Is he wearing an asshat? Hmmm

Leave a Reply

